What to expect this Milan Fashion Week FW24

What to expect this Milan Fashion Week FW24

by Robyn Pullen
11 min

London Fashion Week – the location on everyone’s fashion calendar widely recognised for its NEWGEN talent – has just wrapped, so we hope you’re ready for the big leagues. Hitting up Milan this week will mean joining the hoard of influencers, celebrities, and industry people flooding to witness the likes of Diesel, Prada, Gucci, and many more. Here’s when you need to be watching each brand at Milan Fashion Week, and why they’re unmissable.

Diesel – 21/02 (12:30 p.m. CET / 11:30 a.m. GMT)

Diesel doesn’t do runway shows, it does 7,000-capacity hardcore techno festivals in the pouring rain, which double as a runway show like we saw at SS24. With Creative Director, Glenn Martens pulling out all the stops for his collections, from the designs to models to venues, get ready to be blown away by FW24.

FENDI – 21/02 (2 p.m. CET / 1 p.m. GMT)

FENDI SS24 was a tearjerker, shown to the sombre soundtrack of “This Bitter Earth / On the Nature of Daylight” and featuring a collection of designs that felt like Creative Director, Kim Jones at his most open and honest. Whether this season we receive another heartfelt emotional show from Jones or a more up-beat transition, only time will tell.

Prada – 22/02 (2 p.m. CET / 1 p.m. GMT)

Last season for Womenswear SS24, organza dresses and glossy slime were the main characters of Prada’s show. However, considering the brand’s Menswear show in January was “nature meets office-core” inspired, it’s likely Prada’s next Womenswear show will follow the same direction. Whether this prediction is correct or not will reveal itself this Thursday in Milan though, so keep an eye out.

Moschino – 22/02 (6 p.m. CET / 5 p.m. GMT)

Considering that Moschino has just appointed a new Creative Director at its helm – following the tragic passing of Davide Renne – its FW24 show could present almost anything. With Adrian Appiolaza, who previously worked under Jonathan Anderson at LOEWE, running Moschino this season, our expectations are running wild. 

GCDS – 22/02 (7 p.m. CET / 6 p.m. GMT)

GCDS’ last show was one of the campest collections at SS24, presenting a diverse collection of looks, ranging from ball gowns to sailor’s fits. With brothers Giuliano and Giordano Calza behind the brand, we’re hoping to see GCDS (which stands for God Cannot Destroy Streetwear) look camp right in the eye for another season.

Blumarine – 23/02 (10:30 a.m. CET / 9:30 a.m. GMT)

When Nicola Brognano left Blumarine four months ago, we were left asking the question, “is Y2K officially over?” given that Bluemarine is the brand to look to for Y2K revivals. However, it seems that its new Creative Director, Walter Chiapponi’s new vision is as iconic as the last. Bringing a romantic flair to the brand in recent campaigns, we’re excited to witness Chiapponi’s new direction this FW24.

SPORTMAX – 23/02 (11:30 a.m. CET / 10:30 a.m. GMT)

SPORTMAX’s SS24 collection was a masterclass in ethereal otherworldly fashion, which translated Creative Director Grazia Malagoli‘s latest futuristic vision into sculptural dresses, transparent knits, and alien-esque accessories. Whether we continue riding into SPORTMAX’s galaxy or come back down to Earth this season, stay tuned. 

Gucci – 23/02 (3 p.m. CET / 2 p.m. GMT)

At Womenswear SS24, Gucci’s Creative Director, Sabato De Sarno showed his first collection, presenting a new vision for Gucci, the gist being: “I want people to fall in love with Gucci again.” Whilst we’re certainly on our way to falling, FW24 will surely be the collection to make us plummet. 

Marni – 23/02 (4 p.m. CET / 3 p.m. GMT)

This season, Marni is taking a trip to Milan rather than showing as part of Paris Fashion Week’s schedule, revealing its FW24 collection in its home land, Italy. With equally playful and luxurious designs, Marni is always a highlight of PFW so we’re excited to see what the brand brings to Milan.

Sunnei – 23/02 (5 p.m. CET / 4 p.m. GMT)

Last season Sunnei turned everyone into a critic, by handing out numbered paddles to guests so they could actually rank the collection in real time. Whether this season will call for the same amount of audience participation, we’ll just have to wait and see. All we can say is, if you’re seated at Sunnei FW24, be ready to get out of your seat.

Versace – 23/02 (7:30 p.m. CET / 6:30 p.m. GMT)

For Versace’s SS24 show, Donatella Versace transported us to the vintage set of a 1960s movie, showing a collection filled with candy-coloured collared suits and tunic-style mini dresses. Will this season continue with the Old Hollywood theme or venture into more modern inspirations? Settle in with a bag of popcorn this Friday night to find out.

Ferragamo – 24/02 (11:30 a.m. CET / 10:30 a.m. GMT)

Maximilian Davis has become one of the most watched designers of our generations, thanks to his stunning work at Ferragamo, that blends sculpture with design simplicity. The result always gets High Fashion Twitter talking, and for good reasons. Stay tuned for yet another masterclass in luxury at Ferragamo.

BALLY – 24/02 (6 p.m. CET / 5 p.m. GMT)

Last season Creative Director Simone Bellotti realised his new vision at the helm of BALLY, showing his first collection for the brand, injecting a much-need oomph, wow-factor, and delicious combination of contemporary design and heritage luxury into his debut. Undoubtedly, Bellotti will have more up his sleeve this season, so watch this space to see what he brings.

Bottega Veneta – 24/02 (8 p.m. CET / 7 p.m. GMT)

No one does Italian luxury quite like Bottega Veneta. Creative Director Matthieu Blazy has reinvented the brand into a quiet luxury mammoth, getting rid of all logos while still maintaining a strong brand image. Where will the leather be placed this season? Our bets are on the shoe laces – it’s all in the detail.

AVAVAV – 25/02 (3:30 p.m. CET / 2:30 p.m. GMT)

The new highlight of Milan Fashion Week, AVAVAV has quickly established itself as a show not to miss this week, thanks to its hilarious yet truthful theatrics. We’ve seen clothes being ripped off the models as they are walking down the runway, the set falling completely apart, and other models running onto the stage as if they were late and didn’t even have time to get runway-ready. What Creative Director Beate Karlsson has in store for us this season is a mystery worth waiting for.

Featured image via @avavav

More on Culted

See: SUSAN FANG dipped a toe into the idea of ‘home’ for FW24

See: All the best bits you might have missed from London Fashion Week FW24

in other news

Comment

JOIN THE CULTED COMMUNITY TO GET THE LATEST ON FASHION, ART AND CULTURE