What to expect from New York Fashion Week

What to expect from New York Fashion Week

by Juliette Eleuterio
5 min

T minus a few hours til New York Fashion Week kicks off the absolute carnage and creative explosion that is Fashion Month. This season’s schedule has got some pretty big names as well as emerging designers to keep an eye out for. We’ve compiled just a few of the shows you should definitely be tuning into, starting tomorrow.

Helmut Lang – 08/09 (2 p.m. EDT / 7 p.m. BST)

Helmut Lang is probably one of the most anticipated shows of this schedule, if not of all schedules, because Peter Do will unveil his first collection since being appointed creative director earlier this year. A side-by-side comparison of Do’s and Helmut Lang’s work shows that the pair is a match made in heaven, especially considering the designer has cited the house as one of his inspiration points in the past. Think quiet luxury with borderline subversive and unexpected cut-outs, all shown in a monochromatic colour palette.

Helmut Lang ©

Ralph Lauren – 08/09 (7 p.m. EDT / 12 a.m. BST)

Another big one for New York Fashion Week, Ralph Lauren is making his comeback to the schedule. The last time we saw him on the NYFW stage was in what feels like an eternity in 2019. That show was pretty spectacular though, with a surprise guest performance by Janelle Monáe – what are the odds this season will see the people’s queen Ice Spice perform? We wouldn’t bet on it but we’re definitely hoping for it.

Filippo Fior / Ralph Lauren ©

Proenza Schouler – 09/09 (7 p.m. EDT / 12 a.m. BST)

Last season, we saw the New York it girl Chloë Sevigny kickstart Proenza Schouler‘s show that consisted of functionality-meets-style with tailored suits, plunging v-neck dresses and trenches that are a whole outfit on their own. This season we can expect an expansion of the modern New York woman’s wardrobe, probably with some laser-printed detailing, as teased on the brand’s Instagram.

Monica Feudi / Proenza Schouler ©

Area – 10/09 (6 p.m. EDT / 11 p.m. BST)

Area is always a fun one to watch. Kooky, quirky and camp, Area’s aesthetic always brings in a 3D element into its clothing, in the form of a pink watermelon dress or a spikey number that would definitely be considered a weapon at airport security. We’re putting our money on gigantic bows for this show, considering the engulfing blokette and back-to-girlhood aesthetics that have taken over our FYPs.

Area ©

Dion Lee – 11/09 (9 p.m. EDT / 2 a.m. BST)

We saw a much more risqué and sensual side to Dion Lee last season, blurring the lines between the runway show and the after-party with skin-tight skirts and skimpy fishnet-inspired tops. With this season showing for SS24, cut-outs and midriff appearances will be even more prominent, finding the middle ground between delicate and harsh Dion Lee is known for.

Dion Lee ©

PUPPETS AND PUPPETS – 13/09 (9 p.m. EDT / 2 a.m. BST)

If you haven’t heard of PUPPETS AND PUPPETS, what have you been doing? The NYC-based brand was founded in 2018 and has recently blown up thanks to its whimsical bags. Some of their most popular models include the cookie bag and the telephone handle bag, but for SS24 what if PUPPETS AND PUPPETS brought out an Elf Bar-decorated bag? That’s probably not so brand-friendly but we can dream.

PUPPETS AND PUPPETS ©

More on Culted

See: SS24 Fashion Month: what to expect 

See: The British Fashion Council announces its Fashion Awards 2023 nominees

in other news

Comment

JOIN THE CULTED COMMUNITY TO GET THE LATEST ON FASHION, ART AND CULTURE