The British Fashion Council announces its Fashion Awards 2023 nominees

The British Fashion Council announces its Fashion Awards 2023 nominees

by Juliette Eleuterio
5 min

The British Fashion Council has just announced the nominees for this year’s edition of the Fashion Awards. The award ceremony will take place later this year on December 4, celebrating the intersectionality between fashion and culture and highlighting the creative minds that make this come to life.

There are six categories this year with an award up for grabs, five of which have already been announced: British Menswear Designer, British Womenswear Designer, New Establishment Menswear, New Establishment Womenswear and Model of the Year. The Designer of the Year nominees will be announced in November.

Of course, there are your expected big names which have been nominated, like Dior Men’s Kim jones for British Menswear Designer and Anok Yai for Model of the Year, but there are also some pretty unexpected yet well-deserved names sprinkled throughout. The most surprising is probably Corteiz being nominated for New Establishment Menswear. It’s no secret that Corteiz has been turning the streets on its head but receiving a BFC Fashion Awards prize will solidify the streetwear brand’s position in the world of high-end fashion.

This year, the British Menswear Designer nominees are looking like a tough crowd to beat, with both Kiko Kostadinov and Martine Rose eligible for the win with their eponymous brands alongside Grace Wales Bonner for Wales Bonner and Steven Stokey-Daley for S.S. Daley. 

Over on the womenswear side of things, Maximilian Davis for Ferragamo is looking like a frontrunner, but the race isn’t over yet with Simone Rocha and Erdem Moralıoğlu also in the mix.

As always, the winners will be announced on the night of the award ceremony, chosen by a panel of over a thousand industry professionals. BFC On-Exec Board Member and Chief Executive at Tank Magazine Caroline Issa, Fashion Writer Charlie Porter, Buying Director at Browns Ida Petersson, founder of MACHINE-A Stavros Karelis, and BFC Ambassador for Emerging Talent Sarah Mower are just some of the names part of the judging panel. For the first time ever, the public will be able to participate in voting for Model of the Year alongside a different roster of judges.

1 / 4
2 / 4
3 / 4
4 / 4
previous arrow
next arrow

Make sure to check out the full list of nominees below.

Model of the Year

Alton Mason

Anok Yai

Kai-Isaiah Jamal

Liu Wen

Mona Tougaard

Paloma Elsesser

British Menswear Designer

Grace Wales Bonner for Wales Bonner

Kiko Kostadinov for Kiko Kostadinov

Kim Jones for Dior Men

Martine Rose for Martine Rose

Steven Stokey-Daley for S.S.DALEY

British Womenswear Designer

Erdem Moralıoğlu for Erdem

Maximilian Davis for Ferragamo

Nensi Dojaka for Nensi Dojaka

Roksanda Ilinčić for ROKSANDA

Simone Rocha for Simone Rocha

New Establishment Menswear

Bianca Saunders



Nicholas Daley

Saul Nash

New Establishment Womenswear

Chopova Lowena

Dilara Fındıkoğlu



Supriya Lele

More on Culted

See: Go full sport mode with the Pharrell-approved KENZO-Pace sneaker

See: Bottega Veneta releases its Winter 2023 fanzine

in other news