What’s happening at this season’s Paris Men’s Fashion Week

What’s happening at this season’s Paris Men’s Fashion Week

by Juliette Eleuterio
9 min

Ciao Milan, bonjour Paris Fashion Week. After four days of high end luxury, craftsmanship, and undivided creativity, Milan has offered us a lot, and we’re ready for more. We’ve got some big names this season, including another Louis Vuitton show by Pharrell, Rick Owens, Dior Homme, LOEWE, Givenchy, and a whole lot more. Check out the schedule of shows to get hyped for below.

Louis Vuitton – 16/01 (20:00 CET / 19:00 GMT)
Louis Vuitton ©

This is the one everybody is looking forward to. Pharrell practically shut down Paris at his last Louis Vuitton show, and with the stakes being sky-high, we’re expecting nothing less for this season. We’re going to see celebrities, that’s for sure (and Louis Pisano took to his Twitter to give us the goss, spilling that Swae Lee is set to perform), but the real question is: are we going to get pixelated clothing again?

BOTTER – 17/01 (10:00 CET / 09:00 GMT)
BOTTER ©

BOTTER is heading back to Paris Fashion Week, after an SS24 offering that turned many  a heads with its plastic bead tubes being used for tops, bottoms, and accessories alike. With BOTTER we’ve learnt to expect the unexpected, and we’re still unsure as to what we’re about to see from the Paris-based brand this week.

Givenchy – 17/01 (14:30 CET / 13:30 GMT)
Givenchy ©

As a House between Creative Directors, following Matthew M. Williams’ departure from Givenchy in December last year, its FW24 show will be designed in-house by its design studio. Will it be a return to the label’s roots, or will we see a completely new direction, perhaps indicative of the future of the House?

Wales Bonner – 17/01 (18:30 CET / 17:30 GMT)
Wales Bonner ©

Wales Bonner will showcase its Fall/Winter 2024 collection fresh off the back of the belter “Marathon Campaign,” which looked at the beauty, strength and resilience of the long-distance runner. Will Wales Bonner continue in her sportswear-inspired approach? We sure hope so.

Rick Owens – 18/01 (10:00 CET / 09:00 GMT)
Rick Owens ©

The Lord of Darkness, aka Rick Owens, will rise from his coffin (we assume that’s Rick’s preferred sleep location) to show his FW24 menswear collection. As always, Rick Owens will take on the colossal steps of the Palais de Tokyo for his showing, which will include a predicted minimum of 80% of all-black clothing.

Homme Plissé Issey Miyake – 18/01 (12:30 CET / 11:30 GMT)
Issey Miyake ©

Homme Plissé Issey Miyake is the master of movement. Now led collectively by the design team, the brand continues to capture its essence through pleated clothing which are best shown not through a regular catwalk fashion show, but rather through a performance. Homme Plissé Issey Miyake is always here to break up the repetitiveness of fashion week, conjuring up a hybrid dance-and-fashion show.

Yohji Yamamoto – 18/01 (17:30 CET / 16:30 GMT)
Yohji Yamamoto ©

The undying icon of Japanese fashion, Yohji Yamamoto, is only days away from showing his menswear FW24 collection, and we can’t stop thinking about it. With Yohji, you can expect to see long overcoats that will feed our Bob Dylan winter era, layers on layers of neutral-toned fabrics, and some funky headwear.

Junya Watanabe – 19/01 (10:00 CET / 09:00 GMT)
Junya Watanabe ©

Last season, Junya Watanabe won our (and gorpy boys’) hearts with its Palace collaboration. The result of this link up came in the form of a heavy-duty nylon jacket that became sold out almost as quickly as it was released. Here’s to another uber successful collaboration.

Dior – 19/01 (15:00 CET / 14:00 GMT)
Dior ©

Kim Jones has taken the menswear branch of the Dior brand and taken it to another stratosphere, one where collaborations reign supreme and street style-inspired garments fill up the runway. While we’ve seen the British designer get more comfortable with the brand as seasons passed and collaborations dwindled down, it’s always a fun game guessing who Kim Jones will tap this time around.

KENZO – 19/01 (20:30 CET / 19:30 GMT)
KENZO ©

The NIGO-led brand continues to showcase an East-meets-West perspective, with the brand and designer’s Japanese roots infused with classic Parisian style. With NIGO, we’ve seen a heavy focus on the KENZO monogram and other graphic details, injecting some youthful elements into the mix. We wonder which graphic element will be central to this KENZO collection…

Kiko Kostadinov – 20/01 (10:30 CET / 09:30 GMT)
Kiko Kostadinov ©

The world of Kiko Kostadinov is always worth immersing yourself into. Filled with subtle sartorial depictions and hard-to-miss ASICS collabs, a Kiko show always offers an alternative perspective on menswear, through the designers undying quench for experimentation and stylistic exploration. Safe to say this is definitely one to look forward to.

LOEWE – 20/01 (12:00 CET / 11:00 GMT)
LOEWE ©

Jonathan Anderson gets no sleep during Fashion Week, with his eponymous brand having just shown a gender-blurring collection featuring cat jumpers in Milan. For Paris, the recent winner of the Designer of the Year award at the British Fashion Awards will be showing his latest collection for LOEWE. We expect a whole lot of kookiness à la Anderson, with uncompromised style that will flood editorials come three months’ time.

Kidsuper – 20/01 (16:30 CET / 15:30 GMT)
Kidsuper ©

The unconventional highlight of Paris Fashion Fashion, Colm Dillane is back for another Kidsuper show. With this one, all bets are off the table – a theatre play? Already been done. An auction show? That was Spring/Summer 2023. This season’s show can range anywhere from a carboot sale-style show to a full blown opera. Either way, we’ll be watching.

Main image credit: @pharrell ©

More on Culted

See: The bold, the brave & the beautiful: a recap of Milan Men’s Fashion Week

See: Loro Piana is setting its sails on the Giraglia Regatta

in other news

Comment

JOIN THE CULTED COMMUNITY TO GET THE LATEST ON FASHION, ART AND CULTURE