Let’s talk about Paris Fashion Week FW24: all the shows you need to tune into

Let’s talk about Paris Fashion Week FW24: all the shows you need to tune into

by Juliette Eleuterio
12 min

Paris Fashion Week, here we come. The final leg of Fashion Week has dawned upon us, and it’s a hefty one. With the big heritage Maisons like Christian Dior, Saint Laurent and Givenchy showing, the schedule has a lot to offer. We’ve also got some newcomers like Cecilie Bahnsen and Vetements, here to inject some youthful fashion takes into the week. Keep reading to find out which shows to tune in this upcoming week.

Christian Dior – 27/02 (3:00 p.m. CET / 2:00 p.m. GMT)

Maria Grazia Chiuri, the Creative Director of Christian Dior’s womenswear department, always takes inspiration from historically revelent women. Question is, who will she look at this season?

Saint Laurent – 27/02 (8:00 p.m. CET / 7:00 p.m. GMT)

Anthony Vaccarello continues to push the boundaries of the Maison of Saint Laurent forward, by offering excellent tailoring and jaw-dropping fabric manipulation. Whatever he pulls out of his bag for this Paris Fashion Week, we’ll be watching.

The Row – 28/02 (12:00 p.m. CET / 11:00 a.m. GMT)

The Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen-led brand, The Row, has become a cult favourite in a very short span of time. And with the ‘quiet luxury’ trend thriving, we’re sure that this show is going to be a fan-favourite already.

Cecilie Bahnsen – 28/02 (4:00 p.m. CET / 3:00 p.m. GMT)

All eyes will be on Cecilie Bahnsen this season, with her ultra-feminine and Japanese-inspired take on womenswear. Not only will the ready-to-wear offering be on everyone’s radar, so will the footwear that accompanies it. Here’s to hoping for yet another instant sell-out ASICS collab.

Acne Studios – 28/02 (6:30 p.m. CET / 5:30 p.m. GMT)

Acne Studios has entered its rebranding era. For the past couple of seasons, we’ve seen the Jonny Johansson-led brand move away from its Swedish minimalist and playful roots, and towards a much more glam-and-glitz aesthetics, with an emphasis on sultriness. Let’s see where the brand takes us this season.

Balmain – 28/02 (8:00 p.m. CET / 7:00 p.m. GMT)

Olivier Rousteing’s time at Balmain has proven fruitful – a cultural powerhouse that hasn’t departed from its roots, but only expands it. For this Paris Fashion Week, we’re expecting couture-style gowns that will leave its FROW attendees (and us) jaw-dropped.

Rick Owens – 29/02 (9:30 a.m. CET / 8:30 a.m. GMT)

The Lord of Darkness will return to Paris Fashion Week, and if it’s anything like the men’s show, Rick Owens is going to keep it intimate. Last time around, he dropped his usual Palais de Tokyo location for his own Parisian home, giving us an even more personal take on his collection.

Givenchy – 29/02 (3:00 p.m. CET / 2:00 p.m. GMT)

Once again, Givenchy will continue to show without a Creative Director. Last season had us meowing at the cat-imprinted sweatshirts, which might make a return during the women’s showing. Stay tuned to find out.

Schiaparelli – 29/02 (7:00 p.m. CET / 6:00 p.m. GMT)

Whether it’s lobsters on a dress or gold-encrusted faces plastered onto a bodice, Schiaparelli can do just about anything, and do it beautifully. Your guess is as good as ours, but whatever it is we’re going to be gagging for it.

LOEWE – 01/03 (11:30 a.m. CET / 10:30 a.m. GMT)

Jonathan Anderson has been on a roll, both at his own epynomous brand and at LOEWE. Merging the kooky with beauty, LOEWE sure knows how to put on show filled with whimsical elements that still feel grounded within our reality. This Paris Fashion Week, we expect nothing less.

Issey Miyake – 01/03 (1:00 p.m. CET / 12:00 p.m. GMT)

Part fashion show and part performance, Issey Miyake always feels like a breath of fresh air within the city’s confines. Its clothing feels light as air, a fact further pushed by its models-slash-dancers that alleviate any stress caused by Fashion Week. Plus, we’ll never get tired of those pleats.

Vetements – 01/03 (5:30 p.m. CET / 4:30 p.m. GMT)

The Gvasalia borther-founded brand has now been left in the hands of Guram, who has taken it to more elevated heights, while still keeping in touch with its streetwear and satirical origins. This time around, Vetements is going to push the buttons even further, and we can’t wait to see it.

Vivienne Westwood – 02/03 (1:00 p.m. CET / 12:00 p.m. GMT)

Andreas Kronthaler continues to carry Vivienne Westwood’s legacy, not just through sartorial codes but also through fashion with a meaning. Ever since Westwood’s passing, the Vivienne Westwood by Andreas Kronthaler has been one that pulls at the heart strings – beware, tears will continue to flow this time around.

Alexander McQueen – 02/03 (8:00 p.m. CET / 7:00 p.m. GMT)

All eyes will be on Alexander McQueen this season. With an emotional last season that saw Sarah Burton’s finale collection, the House will debut Seán McGirr as its new Creative Director. The new head of House already gave us a teaser last week with a new campaign that left diverging opinions amongst fashion’s fanatics – let’s see how the show goes.

Balenciaga – 03/03 (11:30 a.m. CET / 10:30 a.m. GMT)

Last time we saw Balenciaga throw a runway show, it was in LA, an aesthetic that was far from the Parisian chicness we’re about to see this week. With Demna though, expect the unexpected with subversion at the forefront of his fashion mantra.

Valentino – 03/03 (3:00 p.m. CET / 2:00 p.m. GMT)

Valentino is leaving its usual Milan spot for Paris, after a men’s showing that was all about the essence of a man. Whether Creative Director Pierpaolo Piccioli will look at the essence of what it means to be a woman this time around is a question only time will tell. 

Mugler – 03/03 (8:30 p.m. CET / 7:30 p.m. GMT)

Last season, Mugler stunned us all with its use of ventilators to showcase the dresses’ flowy nature. Casey Cadwallader, the youthful successor of Thierry Mugler, has been injecting the brand with cool girl-approved ready-to-wear, and while she probably won’t make a return to the runway this season, we’ll still be tuning into Mugler.

Coperni – 04/03 (8:00 p.m. CET / 07:00 p.m. GMT)

We all remember the spray-on Bella Hadid-modelled dress, and then the robo-pups that modelled alongside Iris Law. For this Paris Fashion Week, Coperni will surely have something else up its sleeve, thanks to the creative minds of Sebastien Meyer and Arnaud Vaillant.

Chanel – 05/03 (10:30 a.m. CET / 09:30 a.m. GMT)

The height of Parisian fashion has never been so evident than at Chanel. The Virginie Viard-led Maison’s FW24 show is set to give us a whole load of tweed, as per, and even more accessories we’re going to be drooling over.

Miu Miu – 05/03 (2:00 p.m. CET / 01:00 p.m. GMT)

The little sister of Prada, Miu Miu continues to give the ‘messy girl’ era inspiration through intentionaly dishevelled looks. Miuccia Prada, although 74 years old, continues to prove that she still has her finger on youth culture, and we’re sure to see more of that this season. 

Lacoste – 05/03 (4:00 p.m. CET / 3:00 p.m. GMT)

Lacoste is returning to the schedule, bringing its timeless tennis-inspired clobber to the French capital under the helm of new Creative Director Pelagia Kolotouros. We love a debut, and we can’t wait to see what she brings to Lacoste.

Louis Vuitton – 05/03 (6:30 p.m. CET / 5:30 p.m. GMT)

The big French Maison Louis Vuitton will close off Paris Fashion Week. The Creative Director Nicolas Ghesquière loves a grandiose event, whether its covering its walls in an orange or creating larger-than-life sculptures to accompany its runway shows. Stay tuned to see how the week wraps up.

More on Culted

See: Ferragamo took us to the fashion front line, Miuccia and Raf reigned on at Prada & more at Milan Fashion week FW24

See: Jimmy Choo just showed us what ’90s glamour is with their FW24 presentation

in other news

Comment

JOIN THE CULTED COMMUNITY TO GET THE LATEST ON FASHION, ART AND CULTURE