NEW YORK FASHION WEEK: WHAT’S GOING DOWN?

NEW YORK FASHION WEEK: WHAT’S GOING DOWN?

by Juliette Eleuterio
8 min
DION LEE©

No time for sleep, New York Fashion Week is on the horizon. As of tomorrow, all eyes will be on the East Coast, tuning into the designer’s RTW Fall/Winter 2023 collections. As expected, the schedule is crazy busy, but don’t worry, we have compiled a list of shows we think will be a smashing hit. Are you ready?

RODARTE – 10/02 (16:00 EST / 21:00 GMT)

Kicking off the event is Kate and Laura Mulleavy of Rodarte, making a return to the big city after showing in L.A. last season. If there’s one thing to expect from Rodarte, it’s that we’ll be seeing plenty of gowns. The Mulleavy’s last season was theatrical, bold, and vibrant in colours, very L.A. Though this season, since the brand will be back in New York, it’s possible way may see a more muted collection in terms of colours and experimental in terms of design, as was its SS22 show.

RODARTE©

DION LEE – 10/02 (21:00 EST / 02:00 GMT)

Dion Lee was arguably one of the most talked about designers last season, with the creation of its impeccable monstera leaf-shaped dress and boot for its “Biomimicry” show. The designer had also brought back old design elements tied to the brand, such the signature cutouts. We’re sure to see more of these classics reinvented as well as some new creative and innovative ideas from Lee.

DION LEE©

PROENZA SCHOULER – 11/02 (12:00 EST / 17:00 GMT)

Last season, we saw co-creative director Lazaro Hernandez tap into his Latin roots to create a fun and flirty yet still timeless, something Proenza Schouler is known for. While we can only speculate on what Hernandez and Jack McCollough will turn to for inspiration, we’re sure that the designs will offer a classic take on the modern woman.

PROENZA SCHOULER©

HERON PRESTON – 11/02 (18:00 EST / 23:00 GMT)

We have a feeling this one will be the talk of the town. The streetwear brand has gained notoriety not only in the streets of New York but also has a global fashion brand since its 2017 debut, recommended to Preston by none other than Virgil Abloh. This season will mark the return of Heron Preston to the runway, who has been releasing his collections as lookbooks since Spring 2021, as well as the first time the brand will be stepping onto the New York runway. There’s lots riding on this show, but we don’t doubt for a second that Heron Preston won’t pull through.

HERON PRESTON©

KHAITE – 12/02 (18:00 EST / 23:00 GMT)

Khaite has become one of NY’s must-see shows. It’s authenticity and its ability to reach its target audience comes from one simple fact: its creative director Catherine Holstein is a NY woman. She’s independent and she’s strong, which is exactly what the Khaite woman is. The lines will sharp, the clothing will be powerful and the overall collection will surely be a seamless blend of stylish yet on-the-go designs.

KHAITE©

KIM SHUI – 12/02 (21:00 EST / 02:00 GMT)

Kim Shui is for the girlies. Whether it be Euphoria star Barbie Ferreira or Kylie’s bestie Anastasia Karanikolaou (also known as Stass), Kim Shui has become synonymous with celebrity culture. If her past seasons are anything to go off of, we can expect an array of glammed-up evening wear tailored to the confident Kim Shui girl.

KIM SHUI©

COACH – 13/02 (14:00 EST / 19:00 GMT)

Another big name showing at NYFW is Coach, which, under the creative direction of Stuart Vevers since 2013, has been giving classic pieces that have a certain youthful element to them. Last season, Coach’s newest brand ambassador Lil Nas X made a surprise appearance, closing the show. Will he return? We’ll have to tune in to find out.

COACH©

LAQUAN SMITH – 13/02 (21:00 EST / 02:00 GMT)

Laquan Smith knows what a powerful woman is and how she wants to be dressed. With talents such as Julia Fox or Elsa Hosk haven walked for the American brand, we wonder who will make the cut this season. While Smith designs remain sexy and powerful all year-long, his previous Fall collections tend to opt for darker colours, as opposed to his colour-infused Spring shows, which is something we can count on for this upcoming show.

LAQUAN SMITH©

THOM BROWNE – 14/02 (17:00 EST / 22:00 GMT)

A favourite of many, Thom Browne’s last women’s collection was an amalgamation of over-the-top gowns, kilts, opera gowns and a quick punk intervention. If there’s anything we’re sure of, is that Thom Browne will deliver a meticulous story that will have a clear beginning and end.

THOM BROWNE©

CHRISTIAN COWAN – 14/02 (21:00 EST / 02:00 GMT)

Christian Cowan knows how to serve. The British designer behind Cardi B’s “Invasion of Privacy” album cover look has become synonymous with the glitz and glam of queer culture. For his upcoming show, we are expecting gowns with an old Hollywood feel to them, and of course, lots of glitter and rhinestones.

CHRISTIAN COWAN©

FREDERICK ANDERSON – 15/02 (17:00 EST / 22:00 GMT)

If there’s one thing we’re excited for Frederick Anderson’s FW23 is his fabric manipulation. One known amongst the elite women of Manhattan’s Upper East side, we’re expected chic dresses, suits and coats that scream old money.

FREDERICK ANDERSON©

More on CULTED

See: LOOKING INTO THE PAST AND TURNING TOWARDS THE FUTURE: KEY TAKEAWAYS FROM AXEL ARIGATO’S FW23

See: GIANT BOW PILLOW AND LISA RINNA’S RUNWAY WALK: YOUR COPENHAGEN FASHION WEEK ROUNDUP

in other news

Comment

JOIN THE CULTED COMMUNITY TO GET THE LATEST ON FASHION, ART AND CULTURE