HERE’S WHAT’S ABOUT TO GO DOWN AT PARIS MEN’S FASHION WEEK

HERE’S WHAT’S ABOUT TO GO DOWN AT PARIS MEN’S FASHION WEEK

by Juliette Eleuterio
9 min
LOUIS VUITTON©

Here’s a big round of applause for Milan Men’s Fashion Week which has just ended today. The menswear-heavy week is not over yet, with everyone heading to Paris for the last leg. This year, as every year, Paris is loaded with some big names and shows that are going to make waves. Here’s just some of the many shows you need to look out for this Paris Men’s Fashion Week.

LOUIS VUITTON – 20/06 (9:30PM CET / 8:30PM BST)

Definitely the most anticipated show across all schedules, the hype has been hyping ever since Pharrell was announced as the new creative director at Louis Vuitton back in February, after Virgil Abloh’s passing. For his debut show, we can expect a whole load of streetwear-infused luxury pieces, perhaps a reference to his 2004 Millionaire sunglasses, and probably a tribute to Abloh himself.

LOUIS VUITTON©

BOTTER – 21/06 (10AM CET / 9AM BST)

Last Spring season, Botter was the talk of the week with its fluid-filled condom gloves – if we can even call them that. That was followed up by some bike seat bags, both strapped on and as a clutch bag, for FW23. So if there’s one thing we’re looking forward to for this season with Botter, it’s some pretty funky accessories.

BOTTER©

WALES BONNER – 21/06 (6:30PM CET / 5:30PM BST)

Ever since the creation of the brand, Wales Bonner has been using her cultural heritage to reinvent the London fashion scene. With a sharp eye for tailoring, and an easy-goingness to sportswear-inspired pieces, we’ll be looking out for some unreleased adidas x Wales Bonner pieces, whether that comes in the shape of a new Samba or a tracksuit.

WALES BONNER©

ISSEY MIYAKE – 22/06 (11:30AM CET / 10:30AM BST)

The design pioneer Issey Miyake passed away almost a year ago now, but his legacy is timeless, with Satoshi Kondo now having the reins to the brand. Saying we can be prepared for pleats is more than an obvious statement, but with Kondo’s previous shows challenging the way in which fashion shows are presented, we’re in for a ride with this one.

ISSEY MIYAKE©

RICK OWENS – 22/06 (12:30AM CET / 11:30AM BST)

Rick Owens is always one to be excited for. Taking place at his usual location at the Palais de Tokyo, we’re sure there’s going to be one hell of a set design, considering last time the designer was there we saw a giant swinging ball on fire. Continuing on his past seasons, Rick Owens will surely be experimenting with more colours, and keep working on his anatomy-bending silhouettes.

RICK OWENS©

GIVENCHY – 22/06 (2:30PM CET / 1:30PM BST)

Last season, Matthew Williams gave us a whole load of layers at Givenchy. Since joining the brand 3 years ago, the 1017 ALYX 9SM designer has been infusing the classic French house with his Californian skate subculture aesthetic, while keeping in touch with the house’s own codes. What he will bring to the runway this week remains a mystery, with none of the show’s details yet revealed, but we’re sure the crowds are going to eat this one up.

GIVENCHY©

DIOR HOMME – 23/06 (2:30PM CET / 1:30PM BST)

Since Kim Jones took over Dior Homme, we’ve seen collaborations with Yoon Ahn and Ambush, Eli Russel Linnetz’s ERL, KAWS, Daniel Arsham, Peter Doig and a lot more designers and artists. Who will be the collaborator this season is the question on everyone’s lips.

DIOR©

KENZO – 23/06 (8PM CET / 7PM BST)

Since BAPE’s NIGO was appointed to Kenzo back in September of 2021, the front row has been filled with A-listers. While we doubt Kanye West will make an appearance this season, we might get a Jaden Smith appearance and even maybe a Pharrell one, after being done with his own Paris Men’s Fashion Week show. Whoever is going to be there, you’ll hear about it.

KENZO©

KIKO KOSTADINOV – 24/06 (10:30AM CET / 9:30AM BST)

The days when Kiko Kostadinov sent out masked models during his Central Saint Martins graduate show in 2016 may be not so long ago, but his growth in the industry since graduating has been exponential. This season, we can expect the appearance of pinstripes, after the designer teased his collection on Instagram featuring a flat sneaker with the motif.

KIKO KOSTADINOV©

LOEWE – 24/06 (12PM CET / 11AM BST)

Loewe has been behind some of the wildest items in the past few seasons – think of the Polly Pocket clothing from FW23, the grass sneaker from SS23 and the pixelated clothing that look like it came straight out of Minecraft from the same season. Whatever it is Loewe has got cooking for us, it’s going to be fun.

LOEWE©

KIDSUPER – 24/06 (6:30PM CET / 5:30PM BST)

Kidsuper’s collections always look like they’ve walked out straight of a show, with last season being a literal comedy show hosted by Tyra Banks and performances by Jeff Ross and Yvonne Orji. We’re not sure how Colm Dillane will top this one off – maybe with a live improv sesh?

KIDSUPER©

MARINE SERRE – 24/06 (8PM CET / 7PM BST)

One of the last to show this season, Marine Serre’s somewhat dystopian aesthetic is returning this season in a show that’s going to be crescent moon-filled. Always one to play with juxtaposed prints and patterns, the SS24 is set to take us onto another planet part of the Marine Serre solar system.

MARINE SERRE©

More on CULTED

See: FROM WET DRESSES TO CHOKE TEES: HERE’S YOUR MILAN MEN’S FASHION WEEK ROUNDUP

See: HOW MANY OF THESE DETAILS DID YOU CATCH FROM MAGLIANO’S SS24 SHOW?

in other news

Comment

JOIN THE CULTED COMMUNITY TO GET THE LATEST ON FASHION, ART AND CULTURE