Here’s what’s happening during this season’s New York Fashion Week

Here’s what’s happening during this season’s New York Fashion Week

by Juliette Eleuterio
6 min

We’re only a day away from New York Fashion Week officially kicking off the creative carnage that is fashion month. Starting in the Big Apple before heading to major European cities, this year’s Fashion Week has a heavy roster of talent. We’ve got our all-American designers like Tommy Hilfiger, as well as the new generation of designers like Ludovic de Saint Sernin and Peter Do for Helmut Lang. We’ve rounded up the shows not to miss just for you (you’re welcome).

Helmut Lang – 09/02 (12 p.m. EST / 5 p.m. GMT)

Last season, all eyes were on Helmut Lang as the newly appointed Creative Director Peter Do debuted his first collection for the brand. Do actually surprised a few of us for opting for a colourful offering that was actually a nod to the brand’s lesser-known archives, as well as using poetry by Ocean Vuong, another nod to the brand’s history, specifically a 2000 campaign. With a brand rich in its archives, we’ll be watching Do to see what references he’ll be offering this season.

Collina Strada – 09/02 (3 p.m. EST / 8 p.m. GMT)

A rarity in fashion, Collina Strada gave us full smiles on the runway last season. A pro at all things facially-related (still not over those animal prosthetics from FW23), this season is sure to follow in the designer’s colour-coded and nature-filled whimsical world. The only question left is: what will be the twist?

Tommy Hilfiger – 09/02 (8 p.m. EST / 1 a.m. GMT +1)

A legend of New York in his own right, Tommy Hilfiger is returning to the Big Apple for an even bigger occasion. The brand took to its Instagram to state “Tommy’s home again; back for New York Fashion Week,” accompanied by a video of iconic sights from Grand Central Station to a sign of Fifth Avenue. Whatever Tommy’s got in store for us, it’s going to be major.

Proenza Schouler – 10/02 (12 p.m. EST / 5 p.m. GMT)

The New York Fashion Week schedule wouldn’t be complete without Proenza Schouler, the American brand co-signed by NYC queen Chloë Sevigny. For its last Fall/Winter showing, the actress, model, and overall style icon walked the show, and we’re hoping for a repeat this season. If that doesn’t happen though, we’ll still be watching the brand’s minimalist offering with our eyes peeled.

Khaite – 10/02 (7 p.m. EST / 12 a.m. GMT +1)

If you want to know what the cool downtown New York girlies will be wearing in six months’ time, tune into Khaite’s runway show. Put together without being overdressed, the Khaite woman hones in minimalist silhouettes with an overall neutral colour palette, giving quiet luxury a new meaning. Effortless and chic, what more could you ask for?

Sandy Liang – 11/02 (1 p.m. EST / 6 p.m. GMT)

The queen of bows Sandy Liang is returning to the big city to fill our eyes with whimsical beauty. Bows on tops? Bows on nails? Bows on shoes? Bows on eyelashes? You name it and it’s probably going to happen. Oh, and there will for sure be a series of pieces made for the prettiest princesses of New York.

Ludovic de Saint Sernin – 11/02 (8 p.m. EST / 12 a.m. GMT +1)

The Parisian-born brand Ludovic de Saint Sernin is crossing the Atlantic to make its New York debut. LDSS took to its Instagram to announce the news, stating NYC has “always been a hub of inspiration, due to its legacy as a key location in the history of contemporary queer culture and some of today’s defining artistic movements.” We’re expecting even more sultriness from the young designer, tapped into the local culture.

Coach – 12/02 (2 p.m. EST / 7 p.m. GMT)

Coach’s recent rebrand is unparalleled. Becoming one of our generation’s most beloved brands, Coach has injected itself with youthful aesthetics while keeping in touch with its all-American image. Who’s putting bets on FROW attendees? Here’s to hoping Ice Spice will be there again.

PUPPETS AND PUPPETS – 12/02 (6 p.m. EST / 11 p.m. GMT)

Everyone has that weird youngster in their family who always pulls up wearing the most rogue thing ever – that’s basically PUPPETS AND PUPPETS. The NYC-based label goes all out with its clothing, but it’s the accessories we’ll be keeping an eye out for. A banana handle bag? Yes please.

Thom Browne – 14/02 (7 p.m. EST / 10 p.m. GMT)

The dark horse of New York Fashion Week, Thom Browne is about to school us, once again, on excellence and craftsmanship. We’re sure to see grey suit after grey suit and you know what, we’ll be eating it up, because we know the dedication behind the detail.

Main image credit: Sandy Liang ©

More on Culted

See: That’s a wrap on Copenhagen Fashion Week: here’s what went down

See: Five German designers you need to know

in other news

Comment

JOIN THE CULTED COMMUNITY TO GET THE LATEST ON FASHION, ART AND CULTURE